THIS BREAD IS BANANA’S!!! Literally.

Cover of "The Martha Stewart Cookbook: Co...

Cover via Amazon

I’M BANANA’S FOR YOU!!

I’m still in Indiana and I’m truly enjoying every minute.  Per my request (demand), my mom made sure to stock up on enough fruits and vegetables to feed a small village. Almost everything was eaten except a bunch of bananas.  Although I like them, I’m not in love.  They don’t fill me up and are a bit high in calories – which is fine if I loved them and if they satisfied me – but they don’t so for me it’s not worth it. My little sisters aren’t huge banana eaters either, even though they are quite the little monkeys! However, we all love them IN things like smoothies, peanut butter sandwiches, banana bread, etc.

So to my pleasant surprise, I woke up the other morning to homemade banana bread that my mother just ‘whipped up’.  Seriously, whipped up!?! As if it was just another average day.  When I bake something, it is a process:  Deciding on any one recipe is enough of a task, there’s the grocery list, then the prep, midway through realizing I’ve forgotten ingredients,  then admitting I messed up the recipe.  Basically, when I bake dessert type recipes – they always go awry.  Needless to say, I was impressed, shocked and excited – just the smell was enough for me.

One small glitch – I don’t eat this kind of stuff.  Especially because my mom does not follow my sugar-free, low-cal, fat-free, natural ingredient movement – which is probably why her baked goods turn out awesome!  But…I gotta try it;) I mean, c’mon!  I don’t get these opportunities often when I’m in LA.  Unless I go to Sprinkles, Sweet Lady Jane, Frosted Cupcakery, Doughboys, etc. – it’s up to my tasty, low calorie, over-processed Fro Yo.  And let’s be honest – although it’s delish, it’s not the same as mom’s homemade banana bread.

So I ate a bite.  And then another.  OMG! I’m just going to say it – Orgasmic!  Divine! WORTH EVERY CALORIE! I don’t say that often!  Especially with Banana Bread.  Even the best bakers have a hard time achieving the perfect texture, moistness, consistency and sweet crunch.  My mom admitted it was an old Martha Stewart Recipe she’s used for years and she knew it was a good recipe because it called for sour cream – which helps keep it moist & fluffy.  However, she added her own tasty crunch to the top that basically MAKES it out of this world (not part of original recipe).

I have 4 other sisters and a step dad that devoured it within a few hours.  Done and Done! Read on for the recipe and enjoy – just go for a run/workout after to make up for the amazement you are about to taste!  In the meantime, I’m going to join forces with my Food Bossy Twin (Amy) and have her work her wonder on trying to make this recipe healthy but just as good.  Will report back once success has been made. (Amy, just nominated you to partake in a bake challenge – you up for it Food Bossy?)

BANANA BREAD – (From The Martha Stewart Cookbook)

1 stick unsalted butter, at room temp

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup mashed ripe bananas

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

TOPPING/CRUST MIXTURE (guesstimated, use judgement):

(Handful of walnuts, 1/8 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup white – granulated sugar, 1-2 tsp cinnamon)

Grind in grinder

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat over to 350.  butter 9x5x3 inch loaf pan or several smaller pans.  With electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. add the eggs, beating well. Sift the dry ingredients together and combine with butter mixture.  Blend well.  Add the bananas, sour cream, and vanilla.  Stir well. Stir in the nuts and pour into the prepared pan. Grind the topping/crust mixture together.  Pour topping over the bread mixture in the pan. Bake 1 hour. Cool on rack.

About sotidbits

Really? It's not all about ME!!! Ok fine, I just think it is! View all posts by sotidbits

Leave a Reply

