Shake It Up, Bake It Up…Then…Devour!

Since my obsession for Fro Yo still holds strong and as I finish off the last of my freezer stash of peanut butter flavored fro yo goodness, I start to think that maybe I should look into some substitutes to keep my taste buds guessing.  Or perhaps, to hold them over until I make another trip to my Fro Yo Dealer, Carmelita.  Mmmm, maybe she has a pumpkin flavor ready for me soon?  Until I can get over there, I’m feeling like making some homemade recipes.  Funny, because for some reason I’m getting up close and personal with my inner susie homemaker.  Am I nesting because it’s fall?  Regardless, I can’t get enough.  I screen grab recipes like it’s my job with the intention to have a bake off and then give up when I’m missing more than one ingredient.

However, while searching through some of my favorite sites, I came across some easy healthy frozen treats on FitSugar that sound super delish!  I must try and I must share.

For a Fall Time Frozen treat – try this Pumpkin Spice Smoothie from Eating Bird Food. I also now love this blog and I am so excited to try out more of her healthy fun recipes.  Check it out.

Drink This: Pumpkin Spice Smoothie
Eating Bird Food

Drink This: Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

Ingredients

1/2 cup pumpkin (canned or freshly cooked)
1/2 frozen banana
3/4 cup almond milk
1/2 scoop (or approx. 2 T) vanilla protein powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
pinch of ground ginger

Directions

  • Put all ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

Aprox: 165 Cals |  3 g Fat | 10 g Protein | 28 g Carbs

============

As much as I am a sucker for a frozen treat, I want a treat that doubles as a healthy vitamin packed tasty pick me up that is low in calories.  I stumbled across this recipe on FitSugar:  Peachy Green Smoothie and thought it would be perfect to try out this weekend for an AM jump start.

Summer Delight Smoothie Recipe
Victoria Boutenko’s Green for Life

Ingredients

6 peaches (without the seed; frozen is OK)
2 handfuls of spinach leaves
2 cups water

Directions
Blend all the ingredients together until well mixed.

The recipe yields one quart, which is perfect for four full 16-ounce servings. With each sip, you’re getting a dose of fiber, niacin, potassium, folate, and manganese. The smoothie is also rich in vitamins E, A, C, and K, which will add an extra boost to the immune system. And, if you need to add some more flavor to the drink, try subbing a banana for two of the peaches.

90 Calories | 0.5 g of Fat | 3.5 g fiber

=============

Now for the BAKE OFF!  I finished making my first batch of my mom’s banana bread over the weekend.  Success!  Amazing!  Totally guilty but worth every tasty calorie.  The office gobbled it up and so did my neighbors which were my guinea pigs.  Truth, I had to borrow sour cream and sub the walnuts for candied pecans because it was all my neighbor had.  I’m still getting used to this baking thing and I have a habit of getting started before I realize I am missing ingredients.  My next indulgence will be somewhat of a healthy one and perfect for the on going theme, Fall.  I got this fun baked doughnut recipe off of FitSugar – posted by CookingErin.

Baked Apple Cider Donuts
original recipeBaked Apple Cider Donuts (makes 1 dozen regular size) — inspired by Health magazine

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour mixed with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (alternatively you could use 2 cups all purpose flour)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 large egg, beaten
1/2 cup unsweetened plain applesauce
1/3 cup low fat buttermilk
1/3 cup apple cider
1/8 cup honey mixed with 1/8 cup maple syrup (alternatively you could use 1/4 cup honey only or just 1/4 cup maple syrup only instead of a maple syrup/honey combo)
1 tbs melted butter
extra sugar for coating the pan

Directions

Prepare your doughnut pan by spraying with cooking spray and sprinkling sugar into each doughnut cavity — shake to coat. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Combine the first five ingredients in a small bowl, stir to combine.  Combine the egg through butter in a large bowl, whisk together. Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until the batter just comes together.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the donuts spring back when touched and are golden brown on the bottom. Remove from the pan and set aside to cool . . . . or take a bite of one while it’s still scorching hot like I did.

 

This undertaking could be so bad it’s good.  I’ll see if my neighbor and taste tester extraordinaire is up for taking incriminating baking photos that could hinder my baking rep!  Let’s be honest, if anything I attempt to bake (using all my low cal/healthy substitutions) actually comes out edible, I’ve succeeded!    I often find myself calling on healthy low cal cook/baker/friend, Nancy Fox, of Skinnykitchen. Nancy has been so helpful emailing me back with tips and ways to troubleshoot around recipes.  She knows every trick in the book.

Up on Skinny Kitchen there is this recipe up that looks divine and is just waiting to be made for that perfect rainy fall day, which should be coming up this weekend! Check it out: Hearty Beef & Barley Vegetable Soup, I would have to make it without the beef, but I’m sure I can bug her with a million questions trying to figure it out 😉

 

Skinny Kitchen Recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

================

And lastly, before I forget…I’ve been dying to make these sinful looking, mouthwatering (or drooling) healthy, Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Pillows! Posted on another one of my favorite blogs, the neverhomemaker.  OMFG!  How divine do they look.  I bet you will need a huge glass of Almond Milk to go with.

 

PPK'S Peanut Butter Chocolate Pillows

 

 

This one, I will need assistance from my two favorite besties, Amy & Kira.  These girls are practically professional and I know they will guide me when I crash their Thursday nights filled with cooking, girl chat and vino!  I cannot wait.  Yum Yum Yum in my Tum Tum Tum.

Seriously, I want to make them now! Daddy I want a golden goose, I want it nowwwww! okay, I think it’s time I wrap this post right about now.   Hope your inspired for a fall bake off like I am.  Good luck and let me know how it goes.

About sotidbits

Really? It's not all about ME!!! Ok fine, I just think it is! View all posts by sotidbits

4 responses to “Shake It Up, Bake It Up…Then…Devour!

  • Carrie

    Shawna, When I made the banana bread I substituted greek yogurt for the sour cream. I think you can get it there at TJ’s. The brand is FAGE-total 0% fat greek yogurt. I use it it for tacos, curries, smoothies, potatoes, baking, dips and for breakfast. If you haven’t had it, try it.

    • sotidbits

      I love Fage! Great idea. I was thinking that could do applesauce for the butter and fage for the sour cream? Thoughts? Did you use walnuts or pecans?

      I will definitely try that one for sure!

  • Twin

    Wowza twin! I wish I was your neighbor, that’s all I can say!

    I’m going to the grocery store after work tonight and spending my Halloween weekend baking, I’m sold, these look IN-CRED-I-BLE! Trick or treaters if they come will be TREATed to the fabulous recipes you just shared 🙂

    I’m thinking we set up a baking weekend following Halloween! XOXO

    P.S – thanks for linking me, I have no clue how to do most of what you are rockin’ on your blog, I need a tutorial 😉

    • Shawna

      Oh girl, please oh please try them out and post on your blog photos and the amazing outcome that will be. And report back to SOTIDBITS on how it tasted and worked out. I’m especially curious about the Vegan Peanut Butter Chocolate Pillows. Yes and yes to ALL!!!!

Leave a Reply

