Tid Bits…and Pieces

Men's Health Logo

Image via Wikipedia

These days, it seems like everyone is looking for the cliff notes to even the most basic breakdowns.  Or maybe it makes me feel better to believe that is the case.  Regardless, new information is constantly changing, in and out, hot and cold, yes and then no…you get the picture.  I can barely get through a magazine fast enough before the info I’m reading is already old news on a blog somewhere.  All that being said, I like it short-sweet-and-to-the-point!  I retain information better that way.  Reading through my Dad’s, Men’s Health Magazine – I jotted down some fun random Tid-bits that apparently I thought were worth repeating. I guess you could call it, the cliff notes on fun ‘shawna’ facts.

I actually think Men’s Health Magazine is one of the Best magazine for ladies – You get all the tips, advise and priceless information that just might help in understanding this insane creature we love to hate called ‘man.’ And let’s not forget to mention that there are really hot gorgeous men throughout AND guys always seem to have the best fit tips and exercises.

Take a gander and a mental note – you’ll have random fun tid-bits to talk about this weekend instead of the usual “how bout them apples?…I mean Dodgers!” :

Food For Thought:

  • For all you beer drinkers that want healthy options…really?  Well in case you are one of them, heres some knowledge that will help quench your thirst…If you want a healthy beer option, stick to a STOUT.  Guinness is a great option – Rich taste and helps reduce blood clots and heart attacks.  What’s not to love, bigger bang for your buck.
  • Did you know that once you hit the point of being thirsty, you’re already dehydrated?  Which means that once you are dehydrated, the amount of water in the body has already dropped below what’s needed for normal body function.  So make sure to grab your Water Bobble and suck it down!  My personal trick – Try adding part of an EmergenC vitamin pack for  a light great taste that will give you energy, ward off the flu and help you drink up faster!
  • Unnecessary weight gain isn’t about eating too much food, it’s about eating too much food that’s NOT food.
  • Wednesday is the best day to shop for groceries.  Besides the fact that running into Trader Joe’s on a Sunday or Monday evening will make you want to cause bodily harm – Wednesdays can help save your wallet and your insanity.  Most promotions start on Wednesdays, less people do their shopping mid week which results in more to choose from and faster in/out .  There’s also an interesting study that showed people using a credit/debit card spend 70% more on junk food.
  • Try eating a meal in silence.  People eat more when distracted and the quality in taste goes down. A food quality study showed diners who ate in noisy settings reported that the food TASTED less appealing. Hmmm…
  • If you really think about this, it totally makes sense and works: Planning responses to hunger help you stick to your diet. (ie.  If I get hungry in 5 minutes, I’ll have gum.  If I get hungry in 15 minutes, I’ll eat some carrots)

Fun Facts:

  • Put those phones down texty mctextersons! Apparently, frequent texters are more likely to be lonely and more anxious – according to a recent study.
  • 33% of married women think their pets are better listeners than husbands.  Is this why I’m still single?  Is it because I can picture a lifetime with my dog Roxy and can be somewhat okay with that?  Oh geez.  Not only Fro Yo Girl but I’ll add Dog Lady to my resume 😉

Until my next Friday night in (that I love and often prefer over a night on the town) of stuffing my face with a big bowl of air popped popcorn, Roxy at my side, watching David Tutera’s ‘My Fair Wedding’ and Say Yes to the Dress and then stuffing my face again with my 8cal/oz AHH MAY Zing FRO YO, all while sifting through a stack of magazines collecting random tid-bits for you – I bid adieu!

About sotidbits

Really? It's not all about ME!!! Ok fine, I just think it is! View all posts by sotidbits

2 responses to “Tid Bits…and Pieces

Leave a Reply

